Most beautiful new stadiums selected


Stade Matmut Atlantique in Bordeaux, France, and Estadio BBVA Bancomer from Mexican Monterrey/Guadalupe both received the Stadium of the Year 2015 Award. We were a partner of the contest.


The French venue of UEFA EURO 2016 won praise of international Jury of renowned stadium architects. Created by famous Herzog and de Meuron team, the stadium offers unseen aesthetics and should become a new landmark of Bordeaux for decades to come, while also satisfying the needs of Girondins supporters.


Dipesh Patel (founder of Pattern Architects), who designed some of the most unique stadiums in the Middle East, summed up the Jury selection: “Beautifully echoes the natural and urban landscape of Bordeaux. An innovative stadium form derived from the extrapolation of the seating tiers. A simple and elegant blank canvas populated by spectators. The elegant, crisp, clean detailing takes stadia design to another level.”


Estadio BBVA Bancomer took 2nd place, as its originality and high standards were also praised. “By developing this project the levels of fan facilities have taken a step-change from the venue it replaces, and it has also moved the safety and comfort of spectators to the top of the list of its objectives”, said Chris Dite of Arup Associates, architect of some of the world’s most modern stadia in Singapore and Qatar.


During a month-long Public Vote in February the same two stadiums also received highest grades, though switched places. According to 37,677 voters from 111 countries, Estadio BBVA Bancomer was by far the most beautiful new stadium and Matmut Atlantique in Bordeaux was ranked 2nd. Thus both stadiums earned their Stadium of the Year titles and receive awards funded by us.


Stadium of the Year is the annual competition held by and One award is presented by a Jury of architects with extensive stadium portfolio, while another is decided by Public Vote in which every internet user can cast one vote.


Only new or completely redeveloped stadiums can be nominated for this award. Previous winners include Aviva Stadium (Ireland), Stadion Energa (Poland), Arena do Gremio and Allianz Parque (both from Brazil), Ghelamco Arena (Belgium) and HBZ Stadium (United Arab Emirates).


Top ten lists for both 2015 votes can be found below:


Jury Vote Award

  1. Matmut Atlantique / Bordeaux, France
  2. Estadio BBVA Bancomer / Monterrey, Mexico
  3. Zhanjiang OC Stadium / Zhanjiang, China
  4. Haixia SC Stadium / Fuzhou, China
  5. Avaya Stadium / San Jose, USA
  6. Estadio Cuauhtemoc / Puebla, Mexico
  7. Ordos SC Stadium / Ordos, China
  8. Baku Olympic Stadium / Baku, Azerbaijan
  9. Stade Municipal de Kintele / Brazzaville, Congo
  10. Suita City Football Stadium / Suita, Japan


Public Vote Award

  1. Estadio BBVA Bancomer / Monterrey, Mexico
  2. Matmut Atlantique / Bordeaux, France
  3. Estadio Cuauhtemoc / Puebla, Mexico
  4. Turner Stadium / Be’er Sheva, Israel
  5. Kyle Field / College Station, USA

6.       Stadion Miejski / Tychy, Poland

7.       Baku Olympic Stadium / Baku, Azerbaijan

  1. Haixia SC Stadium / Fuzhou, China
  2. Suita City Football Stadium / Suita, Japan
  3. Zhanjiang OC Stadium / Zhanjiang, China


Pictures: Matmut Atlantique - © Nouveau Stade Bordeaux,
Estadio BBVA Bancomer - © Presidencia de la Republica